Putting food on your face

7 11 2009

FacialsWhen I was a kid, one of my favorite books was “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing” by Judy Blume. In particular, it was the chapter where little Fudge’s parents couldn’t get him to eat, so they brought him up to the bathtub and dumping food over his head. That inspired the phrase “eat it or wear it” which has stuck with me until this day.

It’s also the phrase that inspired us in this week’s edition of Feast Meets West. I thought to myself, “How can we create a program in which we can get away with putting food on ourselves instead of in ourselves?” The safest answer, we discovered, was the ever-popular food-related facial. Keep reading to find out what I look like with a squash (loofah) facial plastered to my face and to get tips for creating your own facials from edible ingrediants.

MaskThis is the “during” picture. At this point, Ellen had already unwrapped the facial and I stretched it out across my face. It felt cool, wet and slippery. It’s kind of a scary picture, so fortunately for Ellen she only had to wait about 5-10 minutes before I took it off. And when I did, my skin was um… cool, wet and slippery. But then I washed it and everything was okay.

There is an “after” picture too, but I think we’ll post that some other day as a little bonus for people who come back to this site often.

If you don’t live in Taiwan, and can’t purchase the loofah (squash) facial like I’m using in the photo, you can always make a facial out of edible ingredients from scratch. You can chill green tea bags and then place them on your eyes for 10-15 minutes. Not only do they look cool, they also contain tannins, which can help cut down on puffiness after a late night out.

Mung beans can also make a good exfoliant, according to face-natural.com.

Listen to Feast Meets West here (you’ll find the link by click on any Saturday).

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 11 2009
Michael Stevenson

Wow, Andrew could pass for a very scary being at any Halloween party!!!! Well done and what a great look! Did the mask do your skin any good?
Did it remove the wrinkles, lift the face a little and set you back 10 years?
Please reveal all Andrew…with the help of Ellen Chu of course!
Best wishes from Australia!
Michael Stevenson

9 11 2009
taiwandroo

Thanks, Michael! Some of my colleagues at RTI commented that it looked like I had posted my Halloween pictures a week late! Ha ha…

Leave a Reply

